Altered Hand Mirror

Hello friends, I’m here today with a sparkly mixed media project.

Now… you must be wondering why did I say ‘sparkly’…… Well.. go on and read further to find it out yourself…!!! 🙂 

Before I start, I would like to mention that I have entered into the ITSY BITSY CHALLENGE#3-2016, with the theme – “Theme – Anything Goes using Color Splash Sprays” with this Mixed Media Project. Click here to know more about the challenge.

As a part of this challenge, I will have to showcase the new Colour Splash Sprays that is introduced by Itsy Bitsy’s Little Birdie brand. For this project, I have used 3 of their colour splashes (you can see them in the below photo… along with the altered hand-mirror).

img_0396

The amazing combination of the blue and pink colour splash mix has given me this gorgeous purple colour. I have also used some yellows here and there to give some contrast.

img_0380

The photo-space area can be removed from the main mirror body and can be re-attached with a photo. I used some pattern paper to cover this and have die cut the word ‘Love’ and adhered onto it (this is optional…I just wanted to put in some sentiment in the project). In case you do not wish to attach a photo, this space can be left as it is with this gorgeous pattern paper and a little sentiment.

mirror-11

So here’s where you can see all the sparkle. I have used lots and lots of glitter glue on this project. I usually don’t make my projects glittery. But for this one, I was tempted to make it all shimmering… especially after filling the pendant with loads of glitter.

mirror-9

For embellishing, I used some chipboard shapes, paper flowers, buttons, twine, micro beads, lace and some half cut pearls. I had this metal pendant with me which I attached with a piece of chain onto the base.

So, here’s how the finished project looks after attaching the photo-space area.

mirror-3

I hope you found this project inspirational and will try out some mixed media too. You can see some of my other mixed media works by clicking on this link.

*** Happy Crafting ***

 

 

4 thoughts on “Altered Hand Mirror

Leave a Reply

